Licensing Information: 651-266-3781
Child Care Assistance Payments: 651-266-4019
Child Care Services helps families survive & thrive
Ramsey County Community Human Services (CHS)
- Helps parents who need financial assistance to apply for the Minnesota Child Care Assistance Program
- Assists potential and current care providers to navigate through the licensing process and locate training
- Monitors licensed childcare homes
Child Care Licensing Unit
Ramsey County Child Care Licensing is an agent of the State of Minnesota - Department of Human Services. Ramsey County Licensing Social Workers monitor and visit licensed childcare homes at least once each year. These Social Workers are responsible for investigating complaints about licensed providers, as well as ensuring that applicants and providers continue to meet the state standards for licensed childcare qualifications, training, supervision, and safety. The minimum fee is $150 for a one-year license. The maximum is $200 for a two-year license. Learn more about license fees
General Licensing Information
Minnesota State Statutory Requirements for Licensed Child Care (Licensing rules for Providers) are set forth in Minnesota Rules, Parts 9502.0300 –9502.0445, and Minnesota Statutes 245A and 245C, which govern licensing of Family Child Care and Group Family Child Care.
These rules define minimum standards a Provider must meet in order to be recommended for licensure. The standards also relate to caregiver qualifications, caregiver training, license capacity, age distribution restrictions, behavior guidance, provider records, activities and equipment, safety of the physical environment, sanitation and health, and nutrition.
Legal Unlicensed Child Care
People who provide childcare in Minnesota must have a license from the Department of Human Services. It is a misdemeanor to provide childcare without a license. Under Minnesota Statutes, Section 245A.03, subdivision 2, there are two exceptions to this rule:
- You may provide care for children who are related to you, and children from one single unrelated family.
- You may provide unlicensed childcare for a cumulative total of less than 30 days in any 12-month period.
Registered Unlicensed Child Care
Both Licensed and Legal Unlicensed Family Child Care Providers may be “Registered” to provide care to children whose parents are eligible to receive childcare subsidy. Such registration allows providers to receive payment from the Child Care Payment Department based on state and county guidelines. For more information contact the Child Care Payment Unit at 651-266-4019.